Articles & Essays Series

Guest Articles

This recurring stand-alone article series joins our weekly Transpartisan Notes series (begun July 4, 2016) and consists of important articles from the transpartisan community. The articles come from individuals such as The Transpartisan Review’s advisors, colleagues, family, friends and commenters. We plan to publish such articles as they seem useful.

Political Armageddon

by Ralph Benko

January 2019 – “Our major secret weapon is to deprive you of an enemy.” Columnist Ralph Benko explores the meaning behind this notable Soviet-era quote.

Download Political Armageddon
2 MB PDF Version


The Right To Bear Arms: A Disfavored Right

by Anthony P. Picadio

February 2019 – Southern slave states would never have ratified the Second Amendment if it had been understood as creating an individual right to own firearms because of their fear of arming free blacks.

Download The Right to Bear Arms: A Disfavored Right
5 MB PDF Version


What Transpartisan Means To Joan Blades

by TTR Editors

March 2019 – “For me, transpartisan is about getting everyone in a room — regardless of their political leanings — to embrace their natural desire for healthy community and encourage them to listen to each other, and yet be willing to have a very different viewpoint and still be respectful of one another.”

Download What Transpartisan Means to Joan Blades
4 MB PDF Version


Aging Politics: Millennials and the Transpartisan Movement

by Matthew Cassidy

April 2019 – Millennials have an untapped superpower: the power to decide the next leaders of the United States. In almost logarithmic fashion, the Millennials have ascended to a role unseen since the baby boomers. They are a political force. Advertisers covet this demographic; establishment politicians fear them. Millennials represent the young generation that grew up at the dawn of the internet.

Download Aging Politics: Millennials and the Transpartisan Movement
3.5 MB PDF Version


Transpartisan Maturity in Utah

by John T. Kesler

May 2019 – As much as we are all aware of extreme political polarization and dysfunction in America on a national level, there are many examples on a state and local level across the United States of more mature and transpartisan approaches to leadership, public policy, processes, systems and cultural orientation.

Download Transpartisan Maturity in Utah
4.4 MB PDF Version


Why I Am Transpartisan

by John Steiner

June 2019 – “For me, transpartisan describes a meme, a field, a constituency, a dynamic, a movement, and even a philosophy. Transpartisan has emerged as an important political expression in the 21st century, recognizing differences agreeably while mostly focusing on our commonalities.”

Download Why I Am Transpartisan
3.9 MB PDF Version

Find the Matrix

Every week, we have fun examining the daily media flow — stories, opinion, features, and babble — and we thought you, our readers, might like to join us as we search for the “voices” of the 60% of voting-age adults who choose to avoid partisan political loyalties and engage the “transpartisan impulse” which drives them to seek political alternatives.

We offer “transpartisan” (as illustrated by our Transpartisan Matrix) as an expansion of, rather than a substitute for, partisan politics which, like sports, play an important and entertaining role in daily life. Give a transpartisan read to these articles from the N.Y. Times and see if you find the “matrix”, and if finding it helps clarify the politics. Oh, and also have fun doing it.

The Wrong Time for Joe Biden

by Michelle Goldberg

NYTimes, April 01, 2019 – “No one should judge the whole span of Biden’s career by the standards of 2019, but if he’s going to run for president, it’s fair to ask whether he’s the right leader for this moment. He is a product of his time, but that time is up.”

The United Kingdom Has Gone Mad

by Thomas L. Friedman

NYTimes, April 02, 2019 – The problem with holding out for a perfect Brexit plan is that you can’t fix stupid. If you can’t take a joke you shouldn’t have come to London right now, because there is political farce everywhere. In truth, though, it’s not very funny.

Why Howard Schultz for President Makes Great Drama

by Lee Drutman

Vox.com, February 05, 2019 – His potential campaign highlights the fragility and frustration of our winner-take-all system. Even four percent of the vote might decide the future of the nation. That’s precisely what makes his candidacy compelling — and controversial.

Howard Schultz, Please Don’t Run for President

by Michelle Goldberg

NYTimes, January 28, 2019 – Howard Schultz, the former chief executive of Starbucks, says he is considering running for president as a “centrist independent.” Ms. Goldberg writes that a bid by an ex-chief of Starbucks would be reckless idiocy in this opinion piece for the NY Times.

Is America Becoming a Four-Party State?

by Thomas L. Friedman

NYTimes, February 19, 2019 – In case you haven’t noticed, long-established political parties across the democratic world are blowing up, with Britain’s Labour Party (see article below) just the latest to fracture. Could America’s parties be next?

Jeremy Corbyn, Under Pressure From His Labour Party, Backs New Brexit Vote

by Stephen Castle

NYTimes, February 25, 2019 – After the resignations of nine Labour Party members last week, and amid the prospect of more, the party’s leader, Jeremy Corbyn, dropped his longstanding resistance to a second vote on leaving the bloc.

Tags

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *